Zagreb Slalom Races Preview

On January 4th and 5th, the World’s top male and female skiers will gather in Zagreb (Croatia) for the "Snow Queen Trophy" 2021 races in the Sljeme's "Crveni spust" Slalom course.

Zagreb Program:

Slalom. Women. Tuesday, January 4th. 1st run 12:30, 2nd run 16:05 (CET)

Slalom. Men. Wednesday, January 5th. 1st run 15:30, 2nd run 18:40 (CET)

The Snow Queen Trophy races have been taking place since 2005. That year the Croatian Ski Association (HSS) organized the first Ladies World Cup Slalom race, turning Zagreb into an unavoidable stop on the World Cup calendar. In 2008, a Men’s Slalom race was introduced and since then the Snow Queen Trophy races have been among the most-watched World Cup races. Snow Queen Trophy races are special in many respects: only at the Sljeme races are the winners of the men’s and ladies’ races crowned Snow King and Queen, and the atmosphere surrounding the races is praised by not only the world’s best slalom skiers but also all the visitors. Consequently, in 2013, the Snow Queen Trophy races were admitted to the Club5 Ski Classics, which gathers traditional organizers of the FIS Ski World Cup races. Zagreb has thus joined the company of the leading organizers of the FIS Ski World Cup races, including Val Gardena, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Kitzbühel, Wengen, and Val d’Isere.

The Croatian capital Zagreb Ski Area is only twenty minutes away from the city center. The ski slopes are situated on the northern slopes of Medvednica, beginning at the Sljeme peak and using the varied configuration of the terrain, thus providing slopes of different levels of difficulty.

Last season, for the second year in a row, Petra Vlhova won the "Snow Queen Trophy" in the Sljeme's "Crveni spust" Slalom course.

Petra Vlhova recorded a podium in four of her seven World Cup slalom races in Zagreb. Two wins in 2020 and 2021, and two second places in 2017 and 2019Vlhová joins Marcel Hirscher (5), Mikaela Shiffrin (4), Marlies Schild (4), and Tanja Poutiainen (2) as the only skiers on multiple slalom World Cup wins in Zagreb. She has only collected more World Cup slalom wins and podiums in Levi (5 wins, 7 podiums).

A consistent Katharina Liensberger finished in second place with Michelle Gisin finishing third 0.22 sec. behind the winner.

Petra Vlhová is leading the Slalom standings. She won three races -Levi (2) and Lienz and finished second behind Mikaela

Shiffrin in the Killington slalom.

The Slovakian is level with Perrine Pelen (both 15) in seventh place on the women's list for most World Cup slalom victories. Anja Pärson (17) is in sixth place.

Since the start of 2020, Vlhová has won 10 of the 16 slalom events held in the women's World Cup. Mikaela Shiffrin (3), Katharina Liensberger (2) and Michelle Gisin (1) won the other six.

Mikaela Shiffrin won the Zagreb slalom on four occasions in the World Cup: in 2013, 2015, 2018, and in 2019.

Only in Killington (5) has Shiffrin collected more than four World Cup slalom wins.

She finished on the podium in each of her last eight slalom participation in the World Cup, since the fourth place in Zagreb on 3 January 2021.

In her last 55 World Cup slalom participations, Shiffrin finished on the podium 51 times (37 wins).